Author: Harutyun Tsatryan
4 players of Real Madrid are among UEFA’s Team of the Year 2018
There are five newcomers in the Fans’ Team of the Year 2018, with Marc-André ter Stegen, Virgil van Dijk, Raphaël Varane, N'Golo Kanté and Kylian Mbappé all voted into the winning XI.

Real Madrid players still rock. Players representing the Spanish giant dominate the final XI, with other Spanish and English top clubs and Paris Saint-Germain’s Kylian Mbappé and Juventus' Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese was included for a record 13th time after helping his former club Real Madrid to a third consecutive UEFA Champions League title in Kyiv in May․

Real Madrid playmaker Luka Modrić, who starred as Croatia reached the FIFA World Cup final, received the most votes with 115,440. For a third successive year, Madrid have the most players in the team with four.

FC Barcelona star Lionel Messi makes his tenth appearance in the XI, while Madrid defender Sergio Ramos is included for the seventh consecutive time. Almost two million votes were cast exclusively by users registered with during the course of the campaign. 

According to the the line-up is based on a 4-3-3 formation, which was by far the most popular system chosen by fans during the voting process with 100,498 selections.

The fans' Team of the Year 2018
• Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona & Germany)
• Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF & Spain)
• Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC & Netherlands)
• Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid CF & France)
• Marcelo (Real Madrid CF & Brazil)
• N'Golo Kanté (Chelsea FC & France)
• Luka Modrić (Real Madrid CF & Croatia)
• Eden Hazard (Chelsea FC & Belgium)
• Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain & France)
• Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF/Juventus & Portugal)
• Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona & Argentina)